Harvey Award Winners Announced: DC Comics Big Winners

The 2002 Harvey Award winners were announced Friday night at the Pittsburgh Comicon, and DC Comics' "100 Bullets" completed a nice triple play, winning Best Writer, Best Artist and Best Continuing or Limited Series.

Otherwise, it was a fairly even field, with four winners taking home two awards each and no big winners matching or exceeding what "100 Bullets" achieved. It was also a good night for DC Comics overall, with their works being honored with seven awards.

Other winners included:

Best Cartoonist: Dan Clowes

Special Award for Humor: Evan Dorkin for "Dork"

Special Award For Excellence in Presentation: "Spirit Archives," DC Comics

Best New Series: "La Perdida," Fantagraphics

Best Single Issue or Story: "Eightball" #22, Fantagraphics

Best Graphic Album of Original Work: "Golem's Mighty Swing," Drawn and Quarterly

Best Graphic Album of Previously Published Work: "Lone Wolf and Cub," Dark Horse Comics

Best Anthology: "Bizarro," DC Comics

Best Inker: Charles Burns for "Black Hole"

Best Letterer: Chris Ware for "Acme Novelty Library"

Best Colorist: Chris Ware for "Acme Novelty Library"

Best Syndicated Strip: "Mutts"

Best Biographical/Historical Presentation: "Jack Cole and Plastic Man"

Best Presentation of Foreign Material: "Lone Wolf and Cub," Dark Horse Comics

Best Domestic Reprint Project: "Spirit Archives," DC Comics

Best New Talent: Jason for "Hey Wait"

Best Cover Artist: Adam Hughes for "Wonder Woman"

Bat Signal
NYC's Empire State Building Will Go Yellow for Batman Day

More in Comics