pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Glyph Award Nominees Are Out!

by  in Comic News Comment
Glyph Award Nominees Are Out!

The nominees for Rich Watson’s annual Glyph Awards (created to recognize the best in comics made by, for, and about people of color, which will be presented in May at the East Coast Black Age of Comics Convention (ECBACC) in Philadelphia) are out and our own Chad Nevett was part of the nomination committee. I felt that last year’s committee (of which I was a part of, along with David Brothers) did a great job, so I was eagerly awaiting what Chad and his group decided on, and they, too, did a very nice job!

Read on for the nominees!

Story of the Year

Afrodisiac; Jim Rugg, co-writer and artist; Brian Maruca, co-writer

BB Wolf and the 3 LPs; JD Arnold, writer, Richard Koslowski, artist

Fist Stick Knife Gun; Geoffrey Canada, writer, Jamar Nicholas, artist

Unknown Soldier: Dry Season; Joshua Dysart, writer, Alberto Ponticello, artist

Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty; G. Neri, writer, Randy DuBurke, artist

Best Writer

JD Arnold, BB Wolf and the 3 LPs

Geoffrey Canada, Fist Stick Knife Gun

Joshua Dysart, Unknown Soldier

Mat Johnson, Dark Rain

Jim Rugg & Brian Maruca, Afrodisiac

Best Artist

Denys Cowan, Captain America/Black Panther: Flags of Our Fathers

Christian Dibari, Pale Horse

Simone Gane, Dark Rain

Richard Koslowski, BB Wolf and the 3 LPs

Jim Rugg, Afrodisiac

Best Male Character

Afrodisiac, Afrodisiac; created by Jim Rugg, co-writer and artist, & Brian Maruca, co-writer

BB Wolf, BB Wolf and the 3 LPs; created by JD Arnold, writer, Richard Koslowski, artist

Cole, Pale Horse; created by Andrew Cosby & Michael Alan Nelson, writers, Christian Dibari, artist

Geoff, Fist Stick Knife Gun; Geoffrey Canada, writer, Jamar Nicholas, artist; based on the life of Geoffrey Canada

Moses Lwanga, Unknown Soldier; Joshua Dysart, writer, Alberto Ponticello, artist; inspired by the character created by Robert Kanigher & Joe Kubert

Best Female Character

Aloya Rose, Unknown Soldier; created by Joshua Dysart, writer, Alberto Ponticello, artist

Nola Thomas, NOLA; created by Chris Gorak & Pierluigi Cothran, writers; Damian Couceiro, artist

Sarah, Dark Rain; created by Mat Johnson, writer, Simone Gane, artist

Scout Montana, Shadoweyes; created by Ross Campbell, writer and artist

Selena, 28 Days Later; Michael Alan Nelson, writer; Declan Shalvey & Marek Oleksicki, artists; based on the character created by Alex Garland for the motion picture 28 Days Later

Rising Star Award

Nicholas DaSilva, Dread & Alive

Carl Herring Jr. & Tod Smith, The Enforcers

Brandon Howard & Sean Mack; The Revolutionary Times

Jamar Nicholas, Fist Stick Knife Gun

Geoffrey Thorne & Todd Harris, Prodigal: Egg of First Light

Best Reprint Publication

Cold Space TP, BOOM! Studios

Superman vs. Muhammad Ali Deluxe HC, DC Comics

Unknown Soldier: Dry Season TP, DC/Vertigo

Best Cover

28 Days Later #6, Tim Bradstreet, illustrator

Afrodisiac, Jim Rugg, illustrator

Cold Space #1, Jeffrey Spokes, artist; Juan Maruel Tumburus, colorist

Unknown Soldier #15, Dave Johnson, illustrator

Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty; Randy Duburke, illustrator

Best Comic Strip or Webcomic

The K Chronicles, Keith Knight, writer and artist

Marty’s Diner, Dmitri Jackson, writer and artist

The Revolutionary Times, Brandon Howard, writer, Sean Mack, artist

Solomon Azua; Jake Ekiss, writer and artist

World of Hurt, Jay Potts, writer and artist

Fan Award for Best Comic

Azrael: Angel in the Dark; Fabian Nicieza, writer, Ramon Bachs & John Stanisci, artists

Captain America/Black Panther: Flags of Our Fathers; Reginald Hudlin, writer, Denys Cowan, artist

Doctor Voodoo: Avenger of the Supernatural; Rick Remender, writer; Jefte Palo, Gabriel Hardman & Alessandro Vitti, artists

New Avengers: Heroic Age – Possession; Brian Michael Bendis, writer, Stuart Immonen, Wade von Grawbadger & Art Adams, artists

New Avengers: Luke Cage – Town Without Pity; John Arcudi, writer; Eric Canete, artist

The poll for the Fan Award will go up next month at the ECBACC website ( Fans are encouraged to vote for their favorite black comics from the five nominees listed, or to submit their own with a write-in choice. All write-in ballots must be sent to with “Fan Award” in the subject line. IMPORTANT: The write-in ballot is ONLY for choices NOT listed on the poll. ANY WRITE-IN BALLOTS WITH ANY OF THE FIVE NOMINEES ALREADY ON THE POLL WILL BE DISCARDED AND WILL NOT COUNT.

In addition, Rich Watson announced a NEW award!

“For the first time, the GCA Committee announces the creation of the Chairman’s Award, a new award given in special recognition of a work in any media outside of comics, including but not limited to books, television, film, or the Internet, that illuminates the black comics experience in an exceptional manner, and also broadens and deepens the growing body of knowledge about black comics worldwide.

This year, the GCA Committee bestows the award to the book Black Comix: African American Independent Comics Art and Culture, by Damian Duffy & John Jennings, a reference book spotlighting over fifty different independent black comics creators from the past quarter century. The release of this book was accompanied by a gallery exhibition in New York containing artwork from some of the book’s featured artists.”

The Glyph Comic Awards ceremony will be held May 20, 2011, in the Skyline Room of the Free Library of Philadelphia, Park Central branch, as part of ECBACC, which will take place at the Crown Plaza Hotel Center City, in Philadelphia, PA, May 21, 2011.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos