pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Game of Thrones Smashes Emmy Awards Record

by  in TV News Comment
Game of Thrones Smashes Emmy Awards Record

Sunday’s Primetime Emmy Awards ceremony marked a milestone for HBO’s acclaimed “Game of Thrones.” In addition to winning Outstanding Drama Series for the second year in a row, the hit fantasy also surpassed “Frasier” as the most-honored scripted series in Emmy history.

“Game of Thrones” went home with awards in 12 categories, bringing its total to 38. That’s one more than the beloved NBC sitcom “Frasier.”

RELATED: “Game of Thrones” Now Most-Awarded Drama in Emmy History

Co-showrunners David Benihoff and D.B. Weiss won for best drama writing and Miguel Sapotchnik for directing for the fan-favorite episode “The Battle of the Bastards,” which saw Jon Snow lead an assault on Castle Winterfell against Ramsay Bolton. It captivated audiences with an intense nearly hour-long battle scene.

Stars Peter Dinklage, Kit Harington, Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey and Maisie Williams were all nominated in the acting categories, but none of them received a trophy.

Based on George R.R. Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” novels, “Game of Thrones” concluded its sixth season in June. Two more seasons remain.

See the list of winners of the 68th Primetime Emmy Awards below:

Outstanding drama series
“The Americans”
“Better Call Saul”
“Downton Abbey”
“Game of Thrones” — WINNER
“House of Cards”
“Mr. Robot”

Outstanding comedy series
“Master of None”
“Modern Family”
“Silicon Valley”
“Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”
“Veep” — WINNER

Outstanding lead actor in a drama series
Kyle Chandler, “Bloodline”
Rami Malek, “Mr. Robot” — WINNER
Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul”
Matthew Rhys, “The Americans”
Liev Schreiber, “Ray Donovan”
Kevin Spacey, “House of Cards”

Outstanding lead actress in a drama series
Claire Danes, “Homeland”
Viola Davis, “How to Get Away With Murder”
Taraji P. Henson, “Empire”
Tatiana Maslany, “Orphan Black” — WINNER
Keri Russell, “The Americans”
Robin Wright, “House of Cards”

Outstanding lead actor in a comedy series
Anthony Anderson, “Black-ish”
Aziz Ansari, “Master of None”
Will Forte, “Last Man on Earth”
William H. Macy, “Shameless”
Thomas Middleditch “Silicon Valley”
Jeffrey Tambor, “Transparent” — WINNER

Outstanding lead actress in a comedy series
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep” — WINNER
Ellie Kemper, “The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”
Tracee Ellis Ross, “Black-ish”
Laurie Metcalf, “Getting On”
Amy Schumer, “Inside Amy Schumer”
Lily Tomlin, “Grace and Frankie”

Outstanding supporting actor in a drama series
Jonathan Banks, “Better Call Saul”
Peter Dinklage, “Game of Thrones”
Ben Mendelsohn, “Bloodline” — WINNER
Christian Slater, “Mr. Robot”
Kit Harington, “Game Of Thrones”
Michael Kelly, “House Of Cards”
Jon Voight , “Ray Donovan”

Outstanding supporting actress in a drama series
Maura Tierney, “The Affair”
Maggie Smith, “Downton Abbey” — WINNER
Lena Headey, “Game Of Thrones”
Emilia Clarke, “Game Of Thrones”
Maisie Williams, “Game Of Thrones”
Constance Zimmer, “UnREAL”

Outstanding supporting actress in a comedy series
Niecy Nash, “Getting On”
Allison Janney, “Mom”
Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live” — WINNER
Judith Light, “Transparent ”
Gaby Hoffmann, “Transparent”
Anna Chlumsky, “Veep”

Outstanding supporting actor in a comedy series
Louie Anderson, “Baskets” — WINNER
Andre Braugher , “Brooklyn Nine-Nine”
Keegan-Michael Key, “Key & Peele”
Ty Burrell , “Modern Family”
Tituss Burgess, “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”
Tony Hale, “Veep”
Matt Walsh, “Veep”

Outstanding limited series
“American Crime”
“The Night Manager”
“The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story” — WINNER

Outstanding television movie
“All the Way”
“Sherlock: The Abominable Bride” — WINNER
“A Very Murray Christmas”

Outstanding lead actor in a limited series
Bryan Cranston, “All the Way”
Benedict Cumberbatch, “Sherlock: The Abominable Bride”
Idris Elba, “Luther”
Cuba Gooding Jr., “The People v. O.J. Simpson”
Tom Hiddleston, “The Night Manager”
Courtney B. Vance, “The People v. O.J. Simpson” — WINNER

Outstanding lead actress in a limited series
Kirsten Dunst, “Fargo”
Felicity Huffman, “American Crime”
Audra McDonald, “Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grille”
Sarah Paulson, “The People v. O.J. Simpson” — WINNER
Lili Taylor, “American Crime”
Kerry Washington, “Confirmation”

Outstanding variety talk series
“Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee”
“Jimmy Kimmel Live”
“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” — WINNER
“The Late Late Show With James Corden”
“Real Time With Bill Maher”
“The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon”

Outstanding variety sketch series
“Documentary Now!”
“Drunk History”
“Inside Amy Schumer ”
“Key & Peele” — WINNER
“Saturday Night Live”

Outstanding reality-competition program
“The Amazing Race”
“American Ninja Warrior”
“Dancing With The Stars”
“Project Runway”
“Top Chef”
“The Voice” — WINNER

(via BBC)

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos