Fear the Walking Dead Showrunner Steps Down to EP

Fear The Walking Dead - Cast of Characters

AMC's "Fear the Walking Dead" showrunner Dave Erickson will step down to the role of Executive Producer of "The Walking Dead" spinoff, as reported Friday by Variety. Yet he's not straying far -- Erickson has signed a new development deal with the network, and will remain on board as the showrunner through the show's third season, which is currently filming in Mexico. A replacement has not been announced should the show continue past season three.

Regarding his departure as showrunner, Erickson noted his pride in the first two seasons of the series, as well as the cast and crew that helped to bring the show to life. “I have truly enjoyed working with the writers and directors, cast and crew on ‘Fear’ and am so proud of what we have accomplished over our first two seasons,” Erickson said in a statement released by AMC.

Prior to his work on "Fear the Walking Dead," Erickson worked on "Sons of Anarchy," "Marco Polo," and "Canterbury's Law."

This news comes on the heels of yesterday's casting news that the show has added "Teen Wolf" alum Daniel Sharman in a series regular role.

“Fear the Walking Dead” is a spin-off of “The Walking Dead,” AMC’s adaptation of Robert Kirkman’s zombie survivalist Image Comics series of the same name. The series stars Kim Dickens, Cliff Curtis, Frank Dillane and Alycia Debnam-Carey. The start date for the show’s third season has yet to be announced, but is expected to begin airing this year.

Arrow Season 7 trailer header
Arrow: A Season 1 Ally Returns in ‘Purgatory’ Synopsis

More in TV