pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

EXCLUSIVE: Steranko & Lau Cover Titan’s “A1 Annual”

by  in Comic News Comment
EXCLUSIVE: Steranko & Lau Cover Titan’s “A1 Annual”

From its announcement earlier this year, the return of Dave Elliott and Atomika Press’ classic “A1” anthology under the Titan Comics banner was promising an all-star lineup. With the release of the “A1 Annual” this October, that idea gets going from the cover on down.

Today, Titan shares with CBR an exclusive first look at the piece that will grace the anthology special by comics legend Jim Steranko and current fan favorite cover artist Stanley “Artgerm” Lau. The piece presents Elliott’s own red, white and blue hero Blazing Glory and is the capper on a book filled with new material from the likes of Ron Marz, Dave Johnson, Tom Raney and more. Check it out below, along with a full rundown of the stories inside the series.

A1 Annual

Writer(s): Ron Marz, Matt Wagner, Dave Johnson, Tom Raney, Rufus Dayglo, Andy Kuhn, Dave Dorman, Mark A. Nelson, W.H. Rauf and more…

Artist(s): Jim Steranko, Dave Wilkins, Sami Basri, Alex Horley, Tom Raney, Brian Smith, D’Israeli, Garrie Gastonny, Mark A. Nelson, Stanley ‘Artgerm’ Lau, Garry Leach, Dave Johnson, Barnaby Bagenda, Sakti Yuwono, Dave Dorman, Steve White, Kai Lim, Andy Kuhn, Philip Tan, Rhoald Marcellius, Michael T. Gilbert, Sunny Gho, Doug Braithwaite and more…

Covers: Comes with two covers to collect, including a special Diamond exclusive cover by Jim Steranko and Stanley ‘Artgerm’ Lau!

Page Count: 176pp

Full Color, B&W, or partial color: FC

Retail Price: $22.99

Street Date: October 9, 2013

Synopsis: A1 has always been a laboratory for creators to experiment and innovate, to break away from corporate creations and unleash their own ideas. Already proving a success with the new monthly comic book, this first all-new A1 Annual marks the thrilling return of the award-winning graphic anthology series to bookshelves everywhere!

Inside these oversized pages, a Who’s Who of comics’ talent – past, present and future – spread their imaginative wings across a gripping selection of all-new short stories. Which ones will be the breakout, creator-owned characters of tomorrow?!

Strips: Island in the Sky – written by JOE SIMON, penciled by JACK KIRBY and inked by AL WILLIAMSON.

Tales of Old Fennario – written and drawn by SANDY PLUNKETT

Terror of the Lesbian Nudist Colony – written by SCOTT HAMPTON and MARK KNEECE and illustrated by SCOTT HAMPTON

The Riddle of the Recalcitrant Refuse – written by ALAN MOORE and illustrated by MICHAEL T. GILBERT with WILLIAM LOEBS and DARCY & KEVIN HORN.

Emily Almost – written and drawn by BILL SIENKIEWICZ

A Question of Priorities – written by DAVE ELLIOTT, drawn by TOBY CYPRESS and color by SAKTI YUWONO

Solid Gold Death Mask – written and drawn by RUFUS DAYGLO

The Boston Metaphysical Society – written by MADELEINE HOLLY-ROSING and illustrated by EMILY HU

The Odd Ball – written with layouts and color by NORMAN FELCHE and illustrated by ALEX SHEIKMAN.

Where The Gods Are – written and illustrated by MARK A. NELSON.

Origin of Evil – written by DAVE ELLIOTT and illustrated by BARNABY BAGENDA and JESSICA KHOLINNE

Raging Rod – written and drawn by DAVE JOHNSON

Little Star – written and illustrated by DOMINIC REGAN

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos