EXCLUSIVE: First Details of New DC Series Including Hitch's "Justice League of America" and More

UPDATE 2/6/2015 3:40 AM PT: IGN has the announcement of more new series coming from DC Comics in June: "Batman Beyond" from writer Dan Jurgens and artist Bernard Chang; "Cyborg" by writer David Walker and artists Ivan Reis & Joe Prado; "Dark Universe" by writer James Tynion IV and artist Ming Doyle; "Doomed" by writer Scott Lobdell and artist Javier Fernandez; "Red Hood/Arsenal" by Lobdell and artist Denis Medri (taking the place of "Red Hood and the Outlaws"); and "We Are Robin" by writer Lee Bermejo and artists Rob Haynes & Khary Randolph.

Additionally, IGN has word that "Harley Quinn/Power Girl" will be illustrated by Stephane Roux; and that "Starfire" will be drawn by Emanuela Lupacchino. Both are written by the "Harley Quinn" duo of Jimmy Palmiotti and Amanda Conner.

With these announcements, 18 out of the 24 new DC Comics series have now been revealed. Keep reading CBR for the very latest.

Following "Convergence," DC Comics has 24 new series set to launch in June 2014, as part of what the publisher calls a "more inclusive and accessible" lineup where "story will trump continuity." CBR can exclusively announce seven of these titles and their creative teams.

Bryan Hitch, the acclaimed artist of "The Authority," "The Ultimates" and much more, will return to DC to write and draw "Justice League of America." Hitch first took on both writing and art duties on his creator-owned series "Real Heroes" for Image Comics.

"Bizarro," described in DC's press release by Co-Publisher Jim Lee as one of three new "offbeat, irreverently funny titles," will be written by frequent DC animation scribe Heath Corson, with art by Gustavo Duarte. "Prez" -- a revival of a semi-obscure '70s concept and another series billed as having a humorous bent -- comes from the team of writer Mark Russell and artist Ben Caldwell.

"Omega Men," originally introduced in the early '80s in the pages of "Green Lantern," will be reimagined by "Grayson" co-writer Tom King and artist Barnaby Bagenda. Novelist and former Vertigo editor Alisa Kwitney, who's also writing "Convergence: Batgirl," is set to team with artist Mauricet on a series tentatively titled "Mystic U."

Garth Ennis and John McCrea, who teamed on unique and beloved DC Universe title "Hitman" in the '90s, have returned to DC for limited series "Section Eight," based on the characters who first appeared in 1997's "Hitman" #18. Former DC Comics president and veteran writer Paul Levitz will write the first "Dr. Fate" series in recent years, illustrated by "The Shadow Hero" artist Sonny Liew. ("Shadow Hero" writer Gene Luen Yang is set to take over as writer of the ongoing "Superman" series in June.)

Other new series announced via DC's press release include "Constantine: The Hellblazer" from Ming Doyle and Riley Rossmo (taking the place of the current "Constantine" series); a "Black Canary" book written by "Batgirl" co-writer Brenden Fletcher; "Starfire," written by the "Harley Quinn" team of Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti (who are also writing a "Harley Quinn/Power Girl" series in addition to the solo "Harley Quinn"), "Cyborg" and "Bat-Mite."

Keep reading CBR for much more on DC's new publishing initiative.

EXCLUSIVE: Valiant Reveals Covers For Sci-Fi Mystery Series The Visitor

More in Comics