Ennis, Conner, Palmiotti & More Helm AfterShock's First Slate of Releases

Announced in mid-April, AfterShock Comics is the brainchild of former Marvel and DC Comics editor Mike Marts and Eisner Award-winning creator Joe Pruett. While a number of creators were announced as working with the nascent publisher ahead of last summer's Comic-Con International -- among them Garth Ennis, Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Marguerite Bennett, Paul Jenkins, Justin Jordan, Frank Barbiere, Adam Glass, Brian Azzarello, Marguerite Bennett, Neil Gaiman, Jim Starlin, Amy Chu and Brian Stelfreeze -- what, exactly, these creators were working on remained a tightly-held secret.

Today, AfterShock breaks its silence, announcing its first wave of projects and release schedule. The publisher's first slate of comics is composed of four titles and will kick off throughout December. The series and creator list is as follows:

  • "Replica" -- debuting December 1 from writer Paul Jenkins and artist Andy Clarke

  • "InSeXts" -- debuting December 9 from writer Marguerite Bennett and artist Ariela Kristantina

  • "SuperZero" -- debuting December 16 from writers Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti, and artist Rafael de Latorre

  • "Dreaming Eagles" -- debuting December 30 from Ennis and Simon Coleby.

Additionally, AfterShock has announced deals with John Layman, Szymon Kudranski, Sam Kieth, Ray Fawkes, David Hine, Alberto Ponticelli and Ryan Parrott.

"Our focus will be on top quality creator-owned projects by the best and brightest in the industry. A great mix of highly-rated established creators with proven track records, and those individuals we feel are the superstars of tomorrow. It's all about quality, it's all about pedigree," Marts told CBR News in a recent interview. "At present, AfterShock's offerings will be in traditional comic book format, and we're offering an extremely diverse range of genres for readers to choose from: everything from sci-fi to horror, humor to crime, fantasy to warfare."

Check out AfterShock's full press release below, and check back with CBR in the weeks ahead for more details, art and more from the announced series.

Official Press Release

AfterShock Comics officially unveils details on its inaugural four titles, including a highly-anticipated project from comic veteran Garth Ennis (Preacher, The Punisher). The company, whose editorial team is headed by former Marvel Executive Editor Mike Marts and Eisner Award-winning publisher and editor Joe Pruett, will be rolling out nearly one title per week beginning in December.

AfterShock also announced deals with both Brian Azzarello, whose 100 Bullets series by Vertigo and DC was recently picked up by New Line, and Adam Glass, Executive Producer of CBS' Criminal Minds: Beyond Borders and CW's juggernaut series Supernatural.

The initial AfterShock comics, crossing a variety of genres, include:

  • Replica, debuting December 1 from writer Paul Jenkins (Batman: The Dark Knight, Spider-Man, Wolverine: Origin) and artist Andy Clarke (Batman, Judge Dredd); 

  • InSeXts, debuting December 9 from writer Marguerite Bennett (Batgirl, Sleepy Hollow, A-Force) and artist Ariela Kristantina (Wolverines, Deep State); 

  • SuperZero, debuting December 16 from writers Amanda Conner (Harley Quinn) and Jimmy Palmiotti (Deadpool, Jonah Hex, Daredevil), and artist Rafael de Latorre; 

  • Dreaming Eagles, debuting December 30 from Ennis and Simon Coleby (2000 AD, 
The Authority).

"With this first slate of AfterShock comics, we're not only showcasing our quality of content, but also our commitment to deliver creator-owned comics that appeal to a diverse base of readers and fans," said Editor-in-Chief Mike Marts. "From writers like Garth Ennis to Brian Azzarello and Adam Glass, we're producing exciting, creative content with the best story tellers in the business - and this is just the beginning."

Adam Glass, whose title will debut during the first quarter of 2016, added, "AfterShock's roster of talent is out of control and they are about to change the game. To just be mentioned in the same breath as some of these writers is an honor and I'm excited to be a part of this."

Other top writers and artists who recently inked deals with AfterShock include John Layman (Chew, Detective Comics, Batman Eternal), Szymon Kudranski (Penguin: Pride and Prejudice, Avengers), Sam Kieth (The Maxx, Sandman, Batman), Ray Fawkes (Constantine, Bat- man Eternal, Mnemnevore), David Hine (Batman, District X, Mutopia), Alberto Ponticelli (Unknown Soldier, Dark Knight) and Ryan Parrott (Batman: Gates of Gotham, Star Trek: Starfleet Academy, and NBC's Revolution).

Launched in April 2015, AfterShock Comics is a comic book company that combines the creative edge of an independent comic book publisher with the strengths and experience of a traditional powerhouse. In addition to Editor-in-Chief Mike Marts, AfterShock's executive team includes: Chief Creative Officer Joe Pruett; Co-CEO Michael Richter, an accomplished media and technology executive, most recently at Facebook, as well as an award-winning filmmaker; Co-CEO Jon Kramer, an entertainment entrepreneur with extensive worldwide production and distribution experience; President Lee Kramer, a film/TV production and development executive who has worked with some of the biggest names in Hollywood; and Senior VP of Investor Relations Jawad Qureshi, an experienced Silicon Valley entrepreneur and investor.

Marauders Reveals the New Hellfire Club Headquarters - All Three of Them

More in Comics