www.cbr.com

Early "Captain America: Civil War" Reviews Are in: Everybody Loves Spider-Man

While Marvel Studios' review embargo for "Captain America: Civil War" doesn't lift until April 13, initial reactions from the critics' advance screening are lighting up Twitter -- and the response is overwhelmingly positive.

Overall, the film is touted as having a strong emotional impact, and many of the critics highly praise the presence of Spider-Man (Tom Holland) and Black Panther (Chadwick Boseman), who make their Marvel Cinematic Universe debuts.

Here's a selection of first impressions from critics:

First things first: we finally have the perfect Spider-Man and the greatest Peter Parker.

- nived (@devincf) April 9, 2016

Next: Black Panther is incredible. Boseman plays him as both regal and full of rage. The most serious character in the film.

- nived (@devincf) April 9, 2016

The movie is bigger in scale than WINTER SOLDIER but is so much more personal. The stakes are incredibly emotional.

- nived (@devincf) April 9, 2016

Finally: the last fight between Steve and Tony is unlike anything you've seen in a Marvel movie. They're both right. You just want them

- nived (@devincf) April 9, 2016

I'm pretty sure Captain America: Civil War is my favorite Marvel movie.

- Mike Ryan (@mikeryan) April 9, 2016

Just saw a sneak peek of #CaptainAmericaCivilWar for @ENews & omg -it's amaaaaaazing!!!like unreal....wow! @ChrisEvans u guys killed it!

- maria menounos (@mariamenounos) April 9, 2016

I honestly don't know how Civil War works. There's so much going on but it does. Spidey is AMAZING. Made me smile & laugh till my face hurt

- Germain Lussier (@GermainLussier) April 9, 2016

Captain America: Civil War is a complex mystery posing a big, fun superhero film. Lots of themes and emotions. Very unexpected & VERY good.

- Germain Lussier (@GermainLussier) April 9, 2016

CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR is a Barry Bonds steroids hitting home-run by Marvel & Russo Brothers. And I LOVED Spider-Man in the film. LOVED.

- Steven Weintraub (@colliderfrosty) April 9, 2016

Chadwick Boseman is fantastic as Black Panther. Can't wait to see his solo film. He absolutely nailed the role.

- Steven Weintraub (@colliderfrosty) April 9, 2016

Just saw @CaptainAmerica Civil War!!! Wow! Spider-Man Rocks! Best Action Sequences in any superhero film EVER! pic.twitter.com/5uTdpYvFw6

- Jon Schnepp (@JonSchnepp) April 9, 2016

At 8pm, WINTER SOLDIER was my favorite MCU film.

Roughly 2.5 hours later, CIVIL WAR is now #1.

Action masterpiece. SPIDER-MAN!!!#NerdTears

- Kevin McCarthy (@KevinMcCarthyTV) April 9, 2016

'Captain America: Civil War' is so good, it's a better Avengers movie than the last Avengers movie.

- Mike Sampson (@mjsamps) April 9, 2016

Really incredible character work in #CivilWar. Spider-Man, Ant-Man & Black Panther kill it & Wanda/Vision & Bucky/Sam dynamics are wonderful

- Eric Eisenberg (@eeisenberg) April 9, 2016

#CaptainAmericaCivilWar falls into a lot of the same traps as #BvS, but it's a lot more fun. What we get of #SpiderMan is played perfectly.

- William Bibbiani (@WilliamBibbiani) April 9, 2016

CA:CW is fantastic. Flat out fantastic. Either my #2 or #3 favorite Marvel film so far. Better than BVS, not quite as good as Deadpool.

- John Campea (@johncampea) April 9, 2016

Directed by Joe and Anthony Russo, the film stars Chris Evans, Robert Downey Jr., Scarlett Johansson, Anthony Mackie, Sebastian Stan and more, "Captain America: Civil War" opens May 6.

Sorry, Joaquin Phoenix, But Heath Ledger Is Still the Best Joker

More in Movies