'Doctor Who' Alum Matt Smith Joins Netflix's 'The Crown'

Claire Foy, Matt Smith and John Lithgow will headline "The Crown," the decades-spanning Netflix drama that explores the relationship between Queen Elizabeth II and the prime-ministers who shaped post-war Britain.

Based on Peter Morgan's 2013 play "The Audience," the 10-episode series is described as "the inside story of two of the most famous addresses in the world -- Buckingham Palace and 10 Downing Street -- and the intrigues, love lives and machinations behind the great events that shaped the second half of the 20th century."

"The Crown" stars Foy ("Wolf Hall") as Queen Elizabeth, Smith "Doctor Who" as Philip Mountbatten, Duke of Edinburgh, and John Lithgow as Winston Churchill.

Set to premiere in 2016, the drama reunites Morgan ("The Queen," "Frost/Nixon") with director Stephen Daldry ("Billy Elliot," "The Hours") and producer Andy Harries ("The Queen").

Arrow Creator Confirms Timeline of Green Arrow & the Canaries Spinoff

More in TV