Dawn of X: What's in Marvel's Next Wave of X-Books

Dawn of X X-Men Feature

With House of X and Powers of X, Marvel has dramatically redefined the world of the X-Men and their place in the Marvel Universe. In addition massive revelations about once-familiar figures and a process to undo death, the X-Men have a new mutant homeland and just recruited some of the worst villains in their history.

With both House of X nearing its conclusion, the next era of X-Men titles is already starting to take shape. Since a new slate of X-teams and titles set to kick-off in the very near future, we're taking a look ahead at everything we've learned about the X-Men's future from Marvel's solicitations. House of X might ending, but the Dawn of X is just beginning.

Continue scrolling to keep reading Click the button below to start this article in quick view.

RELATED: House of X Finally Gives Marvel Fans a Clone Saga to Love


Dawn of X X-Men 02 cover

House of X and Powers of X mastermind Jonathan Hickman will continue on as the X-Men's chief mastermind in X-Men, where he'll be joined by veteran X-artist Leinil Yu. According to Marvel solicitations, X-Men will deal with the fallout from House of X, as the X-Men "find themselves in a whole new world of possibility," which will apparently take them to the Savage Land and beyond.

The book will follow Cyclops and his hand-picked team of powerhouse X-Men. Judging by the first issue's cover, that team will apparently consist of Wolverine, Jean Grey and Cyclops' X-relatives like Rachel Summers, Havok, a young Cable, Corsair and the ex-space tyrant Vulcan. Other X-Men like Storm, Emma Frost and Armor also seem set to make appearances in future issues.

X-Men #1, by Hickman and Yu, is set to be released on Oct. 16, 2019.


Dawn of X Excalibur cover

Dawn of X will also see the return of the fan-favorite mutant series Excalibur. The series will focus on the magical side of the Marvel Universe, as its heroes look after the interests of mutants and the otherworldly Kingdom of Avalon. Betsy Braddock, the hero formerly known as Psylocke, will take over her brother's traditional role as Captain Britain in the series.

In Tini Howard and Marcus To's series, the newly-minted Captain Britain will lead a team of X-Men that includes Rogue, Gambit, Jubilee, Rictor and shockingly, the longtime X-Men foe Apocalypse. The series will also feature the return of the Braddock Lighthouse, a nexus point between all realities that's been Excalibur's traditional headquarters.

Excalibur #1, by Howard and To, is set to be released on Oct. 30, 2019.


Dawn of X Marauders cover

Although Mister Sinister's deadliest minions are usually called the Marauders, a group of heroic mutants will claim that team name for themselves in Marauders. Funded by Emma Frost and the Hellfire Trading Company, this title will follow Captain Kate Pryde as she leads a mutant team across the high seas to fight for the mutant cause.

The Despicable Deadpool team of writer Gerry Duggan and artist Matteo Lolli will reunite on the series, which will also feature Storm, Pyro, Bishop, Iceman and Kitty's pet dragon Lockheed as Marauders. The series is also set to feature Sebastian Shaw and the reformed Inner Circle of the Hellfire Club.

Marauders #1, by Duggan and Lolli, is set to be released on Oct. 23, 2019.

New Mutants

Dawn of X Marauders cover

After one of the New Mutants played a key role in establishing Krakoa, the team of one-time X-Men trainees will reunite--with a few slightly newer X-Men--in New Mutants. The series will follow Marvel's next generation of mutants, namely Sunspot, Wolfsbane, Mirage, Karma, Magik and Cypher as they team up with Generation X veterans Chamber and Mondo.

RELATED: Marvel Debuts a Wolverine Straight Out of the Matrix

Penned by Jonathan Hickman and Ed Brisson, the series will be penciled by Rod Reis. For their first mission, these New Mutants will head to the stars, where they'll encounter the Starjammers. This title will also feature some younger fan-favorite mutants like Armor and Glob Herman.

New Mutants #1, by Hickman, Brisson and Reis is set to be released on Nov. 6, 2019.

Fallen Angels

Dawn of X Fallen Angels 01 cover

While the Fallen Angels began as a short-lived group of young mutant thieves in the '80s, Marvel's Dawn of X relaunch will see a very different group of mutants take that name. The series will see Kwannon, who's now operating as Psylocke, join Cable and X-23 on a mission of personal vengeance.

The series will see What If? X-Men writer Bryan Edward Hill return to the X-Men for his first ongoing X-title, where he'll be joined by penciller Szymon Kudranski. As Psylocke forges her young companions into a fighting force, they'll have to deal with her past and the mysterious children of Apoth.

Fallen Angels #1, by Hill and Kudranski is set to be released on Nov. 13, 2019.


Dawn of X X-Force cover

In the Dawn of X era, X-Force has been reformed as the mutants' chief espionage operation. Dedicated to both intelligence gathering and covert operations, this incarnation of X-Force features a mix of icons and fan-favorite mutants split into two squads based on their skills and abilities.

X-Force is set to feature Wolverine, Jean Grey, Beast, Colossus, Domino, Sage, Quentin Quire and the longtime X-villain Black Tom Cassidy. Written by Benjamin Percy and penciled by Joshua Cassara, the series will see the team take on lethal threats like the humans who want to wipe mutants out.

X-Force #1, by Percy and Cassara is set to be released on Nov. 6, 2020.

KEEP READING: Professor X May Be Marvel's Next Major Villain - Here's Why

Star Wars The Mandalorian Feature
The Mandalorian Premiere's Best Star Wars Callbacks & Easter Eggs

More in CBR Exclusives