Comics nominees announced for 21st annual GLAAD Media Awards

Nominations were announced this morning for the 21st annual GLAAD Media Awards, which honor media for their representations of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and issues.

The Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation is the nation's leading LGBT media-advocacy group.

The nominees for Outstanding Comic Book are:

Buffy the Vampire Slayer, by Jane Espenson, Steven S. DeKnight, Drew Z. Greenberg, Jim Krueger, Doug Petrie, Joss Whedon, Georges Jeanty and others (Dark Horse)• Detective Comics, by Greg Rucka, J.H. Williams III and Cully Hamner (DC Comics)• Madame Xanadu, by Matt Wagner, Amy Reeder Hadley and Richard Friend (DC Comics)• Secret Six, by Gail Simone, Jim Calafiore, Doug Hazelwood, Nicola Scott and others (DC Comics)• X-Factor, by Peter David, Bing Cansino, Valentine De Landro, Marco Santucci and others (Marvel)

Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and writers Drew Goddard, Jeph Loeb and Joss Whedon, won the award last year.

Winners in all categories will be presented during ceremonies in New York City (March 13), Los Angeles (April 17) and San Francisco (June 5). At which event the comics category will be honored is anybody's guess.

Michelle Pfeiffer as Catwoman in Batman Returns
DC Celebrates #BlackCatAppreciationDay With Iconic Picture of Catwoman

More in Comics