The CW's Batwoman Announces Series Order with First Teaser

Batwoman Ruby Rose

The CW has announced the Arrowverse spinoff Batwoman has been picked up for a series order. Along with the announcement is the first teaser for the series, featuring the iconic Bat symbol and our first look at the show's logo.

Other series receiving a greenlight at The CW include the Riverdale spinoff Katy Keene and Nancy Drew.

RELATED: Batwoman: Greg Berlanti Reveals Timeline of the CW Pilot

Played by Ruby Rose, Batwoman made her Arrowverse debut during this season's yearly crossover event, titled "Elseworlds." With Arrow announcing its shortened eighth season will be it's last, it is likely that Batwoman slides into Arrow's departed timeslot to bolster The CW's deep bench of DC content.

Continue scrolling to keep reading Click the button below to start this article in quick view.

Even though Batwoman will follow Kate Kane's exploits in Gotham City, the series will only get "as close as it possibly can" to Batman without ever physically introducing him. As for his alter ego, Bruce Wayne, he "remains off-limits for the foreseeable future" as far as The CW is concerned.

Written by Caroline Dries and developed by Bertlanti Productions and Warner Bros. Television, Batwoman stars Ruby Rose, Rachel Skarsten, Meagan Tandy, Camrus Johnson, Dougray Scott, Elizabeth Anweis and Nicole Kang. There is currently no announced premiere date for the Batwoman pilot.

(via TVLine)

KEEP READING: Who Is Alice? A Guide to the Arrowverse's Next Big Bad

REPORT: Rogue One Writer Saved Disney+ Cassian Andor Series from Cancellation

More in TV