pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Baltimore Comic-Con announces expanded guest list

by  in Comic News Comment
Baltimore Comic-Con announces expanded guest list

Official Press Release

BALTIMORE, MD (Feb. 13, 2008) – Ron Garney, Adam Hughes, Mark Wheatley and Robert Tinnell have joined the Baltimore Comic-Con, which will be held September 27-28, 2008.

Garney, artist on Wolverine, is best known for impressive runs on Captain America and most recently Amazing Spider-Man. Hughes, among other works, has been celebrated for his popular covers on Catwoman and Wonder Woman. Wheatley, the creator of Frankenstein Mobster, has most recently teamed with Robert Tinnell, creator of Feast of the Seven Fishes, to develop EZ Street for ComicMix.

“We’re extremely pleased to have all of these creators returning to the Baltimore Comic-Con. Every time we hear Ron Garney is on a series, we know that’s going to be a big book with fans in our area,” said Marc Nathan, the show’s promoter. “Likewise with Adam Hughes, who has a huge fan following. Mark Wheatley has been to every Baltimore Comic-Con and Bob Tinnell is on record as loving the show, too.”

Bernie Wrightson, the highly influential artist on Frankenstein and the co-creator of Swamp Thing, will be the convention’s Guest of Honor.

Additional guests already announced include Jim Lee (Batman, Wildcats – appearing both days in 2008), along with Kyle Baker (The Bakers), Howard Chaykin (American Flagg, Wolverine), Cliff Chiang (Green Arrow & Black Canary), Frank Cho (Liberty Meadows, Mighty Avengers), Steve Conley (Star Trek, The Escapist), Amanda Conner (JSA Classified, Terra), David Finch (World War Hulk, New Avengers), Ramona Fradon (Aquaman, Metamorpho), John Gallagher (Buzzboy, Roboy Red), Michael Golden (Micronauts, The ‘Nam), Cully Hamner (Blue Beetle, Black Lightning), Geoff Johns (Green Lantern, Action Comics), J.G. Jones (52, Wonder Woman), Dean Haspiel (Brawl), Stuart Immonen (Ultimate Spider-Man), Robert Kirkman (Invincible, Ultimate X-Men), Barry Kitson (Amazing Spider-Man, The Order), Jimmy Palmiotti (Painkiller Jane, Jonah Hex), Brandon Peterson (Ultimate X-Men, Strange), Eric Powell (The Goon), Tim Sale (Batman: The Long Halloween, Heroes), Jim Shooter (Legion of Super-Heroes, Secret Wars), Vincent Spencer (Zombie-Proof), J.C. Vaughn (Zombie-Proof, 24), Neil Vokes (The Black Forest, The Wicked West), Mike Vosburg (Lori Lovecraft), and Mark Waid (Flash, Boom! Studios).

This year’s Baltimore Comic-Con will be held September 27-28, 2008 at the Baltimore convention center in downtown Baltimore . Convention hours are Saturday 10 AM to 6 PM and Sunday 10 AM to 5 PM. The ceremony and banquet for the 2007 Harvey Awards will be held Saturday evening, September 27. Nomination ballots are now online at The ballot deadline is March 21, 2008. Full details can be found on the ballot and on the website.

For more information about the Baltimore Comic-Con, visit or call 410-526-7410.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos