Aquaman Film's Official MPAA Rating Revealed

Jason Momoa in Aquaman

Children under 13 will have to sit Aquaman out. The upcoming DC Extended Universe film has officially received a PG-13 rating from the MPAA.

The Aquaman film site lists the MPAA rating as PG-13 for "sequences of sci-fi violence and action" as well as "for some language." Aquaman's PG-13 rating puts it in league with fellow DCEU movies Man of Steel, Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, Suicide Squad, Wonder Woman and Justice League.

RELATED: Aquaman: Early Screening Reactions Declare the Film Is ‘Good (Not Great)’

Recently, Warner Bros. held a test screening Los Angeles that garnered a lukewarm response, with the general consensus deeming the film good, but not great. Warner Bros. also shifted the release date in some foreign markets, moving it out of the way of Alita: Battle Angel and Bumblebee.

The first trailer revealed glimpses of Arthur Curry’s origins in the surface world, with the hybrid human-Atlantean never quite fitting in with his human classmates. At peace in the ocean depths, surrounded by all manner of sea life, it’s clear Aquaman belongs in Atlantis with his people.

Directed by James Wan, Aquaman stars Jason Momoa as Aquaman, Amber Heard as Mera, Patrick Wilson as Ocean Master, Willem Dafoe as Nuidis Vulko, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II as Black Manta, Temuera Morrison as Thomas Curry, and Dolph Lundgren as Nereus. The film is scheduled to be released in theaters on December 21.

kevin smith stan lee
Kevin Smith Reacts to Spider-Man Leaving the MCU

More in Movies