Marvel's Ant-Man and the Wasp Officially Begins Production

UPDATE: Marvel Studios has released a synopsis and updated cast list for Ant-Man and the Wasp.

Marvel Studios has released a playful video announcing the official start of principal photography on Ant-Man and the Wasp, the sequel to 2015's Ant-Man.

RELATED: Ant-Man & The Wasp Drops SDCC-Exclusive Concept Art Poster

In the 14-second video, the camera pans from a director's chair emblazoned with the film's logo to a pair of miniature chairs bearing the names Ant-Man and Wasp. The footage is bolstered by the booming soundtrack Christophe Beck created for the original film.

From the Marvel Cinematic Universe comes a new chapter featuring heroes with the astonishing ability to shrink: Ant-Man and The Wasp. In the aftermath of Captain America: Civil War, Scott Lang (Paul Rudd) grapples with the consequences of his choices as both a Super Hero and a father. As he struggles to rebalance his home life with his responsibilities as Ant-Man, he’s confronted by Hope van Dyne (Evangeline Lilly) and Dr. Hank Pym (Michael Douglas) with an urgent new mission. Scott must once again put on the suit and learn to fight alongside The Wasp as the team works together to uncover secrets from their past.

Ant-Man and the Wasp proved to be a big part of Marvel's presentation at Comic-Con International in San Diego, where the studio announced that actress Michelle Pfeiffer will play Janet van Dyne, joined by fellow franchise newcomers Hannah John-Kamen as The Ghost, Walton Goggins as Sonny Burch, Randall Park as Jimmy Woo and Laurence Fishburne as Dr. Bill Foster.

RELATED: The Wasp Debuts in D23 Banner For Marvel’s Ant-Man Sequel

Released in 2015, Ant-Man grossed more than $519 million worldwide, and earned largely positive reviews. A sequel was announced just three months after the film's release.

Opening July 6, 2018, director Peyton Reed’s Ant-Man and the Wasp also stars returning cast members Paul Rudd as Scott Lang, Evangeline Lilly as Hope van Dyne, Michael Peña as Luis, Judy Greer as Maggie, Bobby Cannavale as Paxton, Abby Ryder Fortson as Cassie, Tip "T.I." Harris as Dave, David Dastmalchian as Kurt, and Michael Douglas as Hank Pym.

Zack Snyder on the set of Justice League
Justice League's Assembly Cut Was 5 Hours Long, Snyder Says

More in Movies