AEW's Tag Team Division Will Not Employ the Freebird Rule

AEW Tag Team Champions SCU have confirmed that AEW's tag team division will not be utilizing the Freebird Rule.

The confirmation came during the Post-Show Scrum for AEW's recent pay-per-view Full Gear, by SCU's Frankie Kazarian. "As long as the Freebirds don't wrestle here, I don't think so," he said.

RELATED: AEW's Brandi Rhodes, Kia Stevens Talk DC, Inclusion and the Brand's Future

The Freebird Rule allows any two members of a larger group to defend their group's tag team titles. The rule was created as a gimmick for The Fabulous Freebirds, a trio of wrestlers who won several tag team titles during their time in NWA. Tag teams who have been become notable for using the Freebird Rule include the New World Order's original Wolfpac of Kevin Nash, Scott Hall and Syxx, as well as the Jersey Triad, which consisted of Diamond Dallas Page, Bam Bam Bigelow and Kanyon. In more recent memory, WWE's New Day has adopted the Freebird Rule.

This means that Frankie Kazarian and Scorpio Sky, the two members of SCU -- or SoCal Uncensored -- who hold the AEW Tag Team titles, are the only members of the group permitted to defend them. The group's third member, Christopher Daniels, is prohibited.

"These guys earned the belts, their names are on the belts," Daniels said. "I'll get my own belt when the time is right."

RELATED: AEW's Chris Jericho Explains Why Aquaman Is Better Than Batman

Kazarian and Sky became AEW's inaugural tag team champions when they defeated the Lucha Brothers in the final match of the AEW World Tag Team Championship Tournament on the Oct. 30 episode of AEW: Dynamite. This past weekend, their reign continued after successfully defending their titles against the Lucha Brothers and Private Party at Full Gear.

AEW: Dynamite airs Wednesdays at 8 p.m. on TNT.

That OTHER '90s Marvel Series on Disney+

More in TV