Mister Miracle Wins Big at the 2019 Eisner Awards

mister miracle

The 2019 Will Eisner Awards, one of comics' biggest honors, were handed out Friday night at Comic-Con International in San Diego.

Tom King and Mitch Gerads' Mister Miracle, which took a dark psychological look at the DC hero, was one of the night's biggest winners, with the title, King and Gerads taking home Best Limited Series, Best Writer and Best Penciller, respectively. King and Jason Fabok also took home the award for Best Short Story for "The Talk of the Saints" from Swamp Thing Winder Special.

RELATED: Tom King Wanted Mister Miracle to Channel Political Anxiety

Giant Days, a slice-of-life series about three university students by John Allison, Max Sarin and Julia Madrigal won Best Continuing Series and Best Humor Publication. Jen Wang also won two Eisners for Best Writer/Artist and Best Publication for Teens for graphic novel The Prince and the Dressmaker.

Chip Zdarsky's Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #310, the final issue of his critically-acclaimed run on the series, won the Eisner for Best Single Issue/One-Shot. The Eisner for Best New Series went to Gideon Falls, by Jeff Lemire and Andrea Sorrentino.

RELATED: Tom King Teases the Start of Mister Miracle, Vision Follow-Up

You can check out the full list of 2019 Eisner Award winners below.

Best Short Story

“The Talk of the Saints,” by Tom King and Jason Fabok, in Swamp Thing Winter Special (DC)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot

Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #310, by Chip Zdarsky (Marvel)

Best Continuing Series

Giant Days, by John Allison, Max Sarin, and Julia Madrigal (BOOM! Box)

Best Limited Series

Mister Miracle, by Tom King and Mitch Gerads (DC)

Best New Series

Gideon Falls, by Jeff Lemire and Andrea Sorrentino (Image)

Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8)

Johnny Boo and the Ice Cream Computer, by James Kochalka (Top Shelf/IDW)

Best Publication for Kids (ages 9–12)

The Divided Earth, by Faith Erin Hicks (First Second)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13–17)

The Prince and the Dressmaker, by Jen Wang (First Second)

Best Humor Publication

Giant Days, by John Allison, Max Sarin, and Julia Madrigal (BOOM! Box)

Best Anthology

Puerto Rico Strong, edited by Marco Lopez, Desiree Rodriguez, Hazel Newlevant, Derek Ruiz, and Neil Schwartz (Lion Forge)

Best Reality-Based Work

Is This Guy For Real? The Unbelievable Andy Kaufman, by Box Brown (First Second)

Best Graphic Album—New

My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint

The Vision hardcover, by Tom King, Gabriel Hernandez Walta, and Michael Walsh (Marvel)

Best Adaptation from Another Medium

“Frankenstein” by Mary Shelley, in Frankenstein: Junji Ito Story Collection, adapted by Junji Ito, translated by Jocelyne Allen (VIZ Media)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material

Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked the World, by Pénélope Bagieu, translated by Montana Kane (First Second)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia

Tokyo Tarareba Girls, by Akiko Higashimura (Kodansha)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips

Star Wars: Classic Newspaper Strips, vol. 3, by Archie Goodwin and Al Williamson, edited by Dean Mullaney (Library of American Comics/IDW)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books

Bill Sienkiewicz’s Mutants and Moon Knights… And Assassins... Artifact Edition, edited by Scott Dunbier (IDW)

Best Writer

Tom King, Batman, Mister Miracle, Heroes in Crisis, Swamp Thing Winter Special (DC)

Best Writer/Artist

Jen Wang, The Prince and the Dressmaker (First Second)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team

Mitch Gerads, Mister Miracle (DC)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)

Dustin Nguyen, Descender (Image)

Best Cover Artist (for multiple covers)

Jen Bartel, Blackbird (Image); Submerged (Vault)

Best Coloring

Matt Wilson, Black Cloud, Paper Girls, The Wicked + The Divine (Image); The Mighty Thor, Runaways (Marvel)

Best Lettering

Todd Klein, Black Hammer: Age of Doom, Neil Gaiman’s A Study in Emerald (Dark Horse); Batman: White Night (DC); Books of Magic, Eternity Girl (Vertigo/DC); The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Tempest (Top Shelf/IDW)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism (tie)

  • Back Issue, edited by Michael Eury (TwoMorrows)
  • PanelxPanel magazine, edited by Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou

Best Comics-Related Book

Drawn to Purpose: American Women Illustrators and Cartoonists, by Martha H. Kennedy (University Press of Mississippi)

Best Academic/Scholarly Work

Sweet Little C**t: The Graphic Work of Julie Doucet, by Anne Elizabeth Moore (Uncivilized Books)

Best Publication Design

Will Eisner’s A Contract with God: Curator’s Collection, designed by John Lind (Kitchen Sink/Dark Horse)

Best Digital Comic

Umami, by Ken Niimura (Panel Syndicate)

Best Webcomic

The Contradictions, by Sophie Yanow

Hall of Fame

Judges’ Choices:

  • Jim Aparo
  • June Tarpé Mills
  • Dave Stevens
  • Morrie Turner

Voted in:

  • Jose Luis Garcia-Lopez
  • Jenette Kahn
  • Paul Levitz
  • Wendy & Richard Pini
  • Bill Sienkiewicz

Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award

  • Edgardo Miranda-Rodriguez, Ricanstruction: Reminiscing & Rebuilding Puerto Rico
  • Lisa Wood, Thought Bubble Festival

Bill Finger Award for Excellence in Comic Book Writing

  • E. Nelson Bridwell
  • Mike Friedrich

Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award

Lorena Alvarez, writer/artist of Hicotea and Nightlights

Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award

La Revisteria Comics, Alejandro Gonzalez, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Fallen Angels #3

More in Comics