Shape of Water Wins Best Picture At 90th Academy Awards

The Shape of Water led the 90th Academy Awards on Sunday, winning best picture and best director, for Guillermo del Toro, as well as trophies for production design and original score. The romantic fantasy drama was nominated in 13 categories.

Although Logan had been nominated for best adapted screenplay, becoming the first superhero film to be recognized in that category, it lost to critical darling Call Me By Your Name.

RELATED: Logan's Oscar Nomination Is a Watershed Moment For Superhero Films

Gary Oldman was honored with a lead actor award for his portrayal of Winston Churchill as Darkest Hour, while Frances McDormand earned the prize for lead actress for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri. Her co-star Sam Rockwell won best supporting actor, and Allison Janney was named best actress for her role in I, Tonya.

Here's the full list of winners:

Best Picture:

Actor in a Supporting Role

Willem Dafoe, The Florida ProjectWoody Harrelson, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, MissouriRichard Jenkins, The Shape of WaterChristopher Plummer, All the Money in the WorldSam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (WINNER)

Makeup and Hairstyling

Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski, and Lucy Sibbick, Darkest Hour (WINNER)Daniel Phillips and Lou Sheppard, Victoria & AbdulArjen Tuiten, Wonder

Costume Design

Jacqueline Durran, Beauty and the BeastJacqueline Durran, Darkest HourMark Bridges, Phantom Thread (WINNER)Luis Sequeira, The Shape of WaterConsolata Boyle, Victoria & Abdul

Documentary Feature

Abacus: Small Enough to JailFaces PlacesIcarus (WINNER)Last Men in AleppoStrong Island

Sound Editing

Julian Slater, Baby DriverMark Mangini and Theo Green, Blade Runner 2049Richard King and Alex Gibson, Dunkirk (WINNER)Nathan Robitaille and Nelson Ferreira, The Shape of WaterMatthew Wood and Ren Klyce, Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Sound Mixing

Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, and Mary H. Ellis, Baby DriverRon Bartlett, Dough Hemphill, and Mac Ruth, Blade Runner 2049Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landarker, and Gary A. Rizzo, Dunkirk (WINNER)Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern, and Glen Gauthier, The Shape of WaterDavid Parker, Michael Semanick, Ren Klyce, and Stuart Wilson, Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Production Design

Beauty and the Beast (Production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer)Blade Runner: 2049 (Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Alessandra Querzola)Darkest Hour (Production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer)Dunkirk (Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Gary Fettis)The Shape of Water (Production Design: Paul Denham Austerberry; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau and Jeff Melvin) (WINNER)

Foreign Language Film

A Fantastic Woman (Chile) (WINNER)The Insult (Lebanon)Loveless (Russia)Body and Soul (Hungary)The Square (Sweden)

Actress in a Supporting Role

Mary J. Blige, MudboundAllison Janney, I, Tonya (WINNER)Laurie Metcalf, Lady BirdLesley Manville, Phantom ThreadOctavia Spencer, The Shape of Water

Animated Short Film

Dear Basketball (WINNER)Garden PartyLouNegative SpaceRevolting Rhymes

Animated Feature Film

The Boss BabyThe BreadwinnerCoco (WINNER)FerdinandLoving Vincent

Visual Effects

Blade Runner 2049 (John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert, and Richard R. Hoover) (WINNER)Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Jonathan Fawkner, and Dan Sudick)Kong: Skull Island (Stephen Rosenbaum, Jeff White, Scott Benza, and Mike Meinardus)Star Wars: The Last Jedi (Ben Morris, Mike Mulholland, Neal Scanlan, and Chris Corbould)War for the Planet of the Apes (Joe Letteri, Daniel Barrett, Dan Lemmon, and Joel Whist)

Film Editing

Paul Machliss and Jonathan Amos, Baby DriverLee Smith, Dunkirk (WINNER)Tatiana S. Riegel, I, TonyaSidney Wolinsky, The Shape of WaterJon Gregory, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Documentary Short Subject

Edith and EddieHeaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405 (WINNER)Heroin(e)Knife SkillsTraffic Stop

Live-Action Short Film

DeKalb ElementaryThe Eleven O’ClockMy Nephew EmmettThe Silent Child (WINNER)Watu Wote: All of Us

Adapted Screenplay

James Ivory, Call Me by Your Name (WINNER)Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber, The Disaster ArtistScott Frank, James Mangold, and Michael Green, LoganAaron Sorkin, Molly’s GameVirgil Williams and Dee Rees, Mudbound

Original Screenplay

Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani, The Big SickJordan Peele, Get Out (WINNER)Greta Gerwig, Lady BirdGuillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor, The Shape of WaterMartin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri


Roger A. Deakins, Blade Runner: 2049 (WINNER)Bruno Delbonnel, Darkest HourHoyte van Hoytema, DunkirkRachel Morrison, MudboundDan Laustsen, The Shape of Water

Original Score

Hans Zimmer, DunkirkJonny Greenwood, Phantom ThreadAlexandre Desplat, The Shape of Water (WINNER)John Williams, Star Wars: The Last JediCarter Burwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Original Song

“Mighty River,” Mudbound“Mystery of Love,” Call Me by Your Name“Remember Me,” Coco (WINNER)“Stand Up for Something,” Marshall“This Is Me,” The Greatest Showman


Christopher Nolan, DunkirkJordan Peele, Get OutGreta Gerwig, Lady BirdPaul Thomas Anderson, Phantom ThreadGuillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water (WINNER)

Actor in a Leading Role

Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your NameDaniel Day-Lewis, Phantom ThreadDaniel Kaluuya, Get OutGary Oldman, Darkest Hour (WINNER)Denzel Washington, Roman J. Israel, Esq.

Actress in a Leading Role

Sally Hawkins, The Shape of WaterFrances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (WINNER)Margot Robbie, I, TonyaSaoirse Ronan, Lady BirdMeryl Streep, The Post

Best Picture

Call Me By Your NameDarkest HourDunkirkGet OutLady BirdPhantom ThreadThe PostThe Shape of Water (WINNER)Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Amy Adams Thinks She's Finished Playing Lois Lane in DCEU

More in Movies