Saga Ruled the 2017 Eisners, Winning Four Awards

The Hernandez Brothers were inducted into the Eisner Awards Hall of Fame, Sonny Liew took home three awards for The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, and Jill Thompson won the Best Graphic Album—New award for Wonder Woman: The True Amazon at the Eisner Awards ceremony on Friday night at Comic-Con International in San Diego.

RELATED INTERVIEW: BKV Brings Saga Out West for ‘Fun-Filled’ Arc, The Coffin

Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples' Saga won the award for Best Continuing Series, while Vaughan took the award for Best Writer and Staples for Best Cover Artist and Best Penciller/Inker. Liew 's awards for his graphic novel included Best Writer/Artist, Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia, and Best Publication Design. Jill Thompson also made the trip to the stage three times, winning the awards for Best Painter/Multimedia Artist, Best Single Issue/One-Shot (with collaborators Evan Dorkin and Sarah Dyer for Beast of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In) and Best Graphic Album—New for Wonder Woman: The True Amazon.


For the second year in a row, the team of Rep. John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell won the award for Best Reality-Based Work; this year it was for March Book Three, while last year the second volume won the award.

There were several emotional moments during the night. Mark Evanier announced that Jack Kirby was the recipient of the Bill Finger Excellence in Comics Writing Award, saying, "at long last, someone presents a writing award to Jack Kirby." Although Kirby is best known for his art, Evanier pointed out that he was a splendid writer as well. One evening the two of them sat down to dinner at Howard Johnson's, and in the course of the meal, Kirby worked out all the characters and concepts for a comic; had they stayed for dessert, Evanier joked, they would have the script for the first issue as well.


Traditionally, two Bill Finger awards are given, one of them posthumous; the living writer who was honored this year was William Messner-Loebs.

Both Gilbert and Jaime Hernandez were inducted into the Eisner Hall of Fame, along with George Perez, Walter Simonson, and James Starlin. The judges' choices were Milt Gross, H.G. Peter, Antonio Prohias, and Dori Seda.

The awards are:

  • Best Lettering: Todd Klein, Clean Room, Dark Night, Lucifer (Vertigo/DC); Black Hammer (Dark Horse)
  • Best Digital Comic: Bandette, by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain/comiXology)
  • Best Webcomic: Bird Boy, by Anne Szabla, bird-boy.com
  • Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan, Paper Girls, Saga (Image)
  • Best Writer/Artist: Sonny Liew, The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye
  • Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material: Moebius Library: The World of Elena, by Jean "Moebius" Giraud et al. (Dark Horse)
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia: The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, by Sonny Liew (Pantheon)
  • Best Humor Publication: Jughead, by Chip Zdarsky, Ryan North, Erica Henderson, and Derek Charm (Archie)
  • Bill Finger Award: William Messner-Loebs and Jack Kirby
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: The AV Club (www.avclub.com)
  • Best Comics-Related Book: Krazy: George Herriman: A Life in Black and White, by Michael Tisserand (Harper)
  • Best Academic/Scholarly Work: Superwomen: Gender, Power, and Representation, by Carolyn Cocoa (Bloomsbury)
  • Best Penciller/Inker—Individual or Team: Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)
  • Best Coloring: Matt Wilson, Cry Havoc, Paper Girls, The Wicked + The Divine (Image); Black Widow, The Mighty Thor, Star-Lord (Marvel)
  • Best Painter/Multimedia Artist: Jill Thompson, Wonder Woman: The True Amazon (DC); Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In (Dark Horse)
  • Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Joe Ferrara, for his work in prostate cancer awareness, and Mark Andreyko for curating the Love Is Love anthology after the Pulse nightclub shooting.
  • Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8): Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea, by Ben Clinton (Tundra)
  • Best Publication for Kids (ages 9-12): Ghosts, by Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic)
  • Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17): The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson (Marvel)
  • Hall of Fame: Judges' Choices: Milt Gross, H.G. Peter, Antonio Prohias, Dori SedaVoters' Choices: Gilbert Hernandez, Jaime Hernandez, George Perez, Walter Simonson, James Starlin

  • Will Eisner Spirit of Retailer Award: Comicazi, Somerville, MA
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips: Chester Gould's Dick Tracy, Colorful Cases of the 1930s, edited by Peter Maresca (Sunday Press)
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books: The Complete Wimmin's Comix, edited by Trina Robbins, Gary Groth, and J. Michael Catron (Fantagraphics)
  • Best Publication Design: The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, designed by Sonny Liew (Pantheon)
  • Best Short Story: "Good Boy," by Tom King and David Finch, in Batman Annual #1 (DC)
  • Best Single Issue/One-Shot: Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In, by Evan Dorkin, Sarah Dyer, and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse)
  • Best Anthology: Love Is Love, edited by Sarah Gaydos and Jamie S. Rich (IDW/DC)
  • Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award: Anne Szabla, writer/artist of Bird-Boy (Dark Horse)
  • Best New Series: Black Hammer, by Jeff Lemire and Dean Ormston (Dark Horse)
  • Best Limited Series: The Vision, by Tom King and Gabriel Walta (Marvel)
  • Best Continuing Series: Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)
  • Best Graphic Album—Reprint: Demon, by Jason Shiga (First Second)
  • Best Reality-Based Work: March, by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell (Top Shelf)
  • Best Graphic Album—New: Wonder Woman: The True Amazon, by Jill Thompson (DC Comics)

The Comics Industry Reacts to Bill Maher's Stan Lee Comments

More in Comics