2011 Glyph Comics Awards nominees announced

Rich Watson sent over this year's nominees for the Glyph Comics Awards, which will be presented in May at the East Coast Black Age of Comics Convention in Philadelphia. The awards recognize "the best in comics made by, for, and about people of color from the preceding calendar year."

Vertigo's canceled Unknown Soldier series received nominations in five categories, including story of the year and best writer for Joshua Dysart. Other comics receiving nominations in multiple categories include Jim Rugg's Afrodisiac, Top Shelf's BB Wolf and the 3 LPs, the Vertigo graphic novel Dark Rain, Fist Stick Knife Gun and BOOM!'s Pale Horse.

Check out the complete list of nominees after the jump.



These are the nominees for the 2011 Glyph Comics Awards (GCA) for black comic books, to be presented in May at the East Coast Black Age of Comics Convention (ECBACC) in Philadelphia:

Story of the Year

Afrodisiac; Jim Rugg, co-writer and artist; Brian Maruca, co-writerBB Wolf and the 3 LPs; JD Arnold, writer, Richard Koslowski, artistFist Stick Knife Gun; Geoffrey Canada, writer, Jamar Nicholas, artistUnknown Soldier: Dry Season; Joshua Dysart, writer, Alberto Ponticello, artistYummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty; G. Neri, writer, Randy DuBurke, artist

Best Writer

JD Arnold, BB Wolf and the 3 LPsGeoffrey Canada, Fist Stick Knife GunJoshua Dysart, Unknown SoldierMat Johnson, Dark RainJim Rugg & Brian Maruca, Afrodisiac

Best Artist

Denys Cowan, Captain America/Black Panther: Flags of Our FathersChristian Dibari, Pale HorseSimone Gane, Dark RainRichard Koslowski, BB Wolf and the 3 LPsJim Rugg, Afrodisiac

Best Male Character

Afrodisiac, Afrodisiac; created by Jim Rugg, co-writer and artist, & Brian Maruca, co-writerBB Wolf, BB Wolf and the 3 LPs; created by JD Arnold, writer, Richard Koslowski, artistCole, Pale Horse; created by Andrew Cosby & Michael Alan Nelson, writers, Christian Dibari, artistGeoff, Fist Stick Knife Gun; Geoffrey Canada, writer, Jamar Nicholas, artist; based on the life of Geoffrey CanadaMoses Lwanga, Unknown Soldier; Joshua Dysart, writer, Alberto Ponticello, artist; inspired by the character created by Robert Kanigher & Joe Kubert

Best Female Character

Aloya Rose, Unknown Soldier; created by Joshua Dysart, writer, Alberto Ponticello, artistNola Thomas, NOLA; created by Chris Gorak & Pierluigi Cothran, writers; Damian Couceiro, artistSarah, Dark Rain; created by Mat Johnson, writer, Simone Gane, artistScout Montana, Shadoweyes; created by Ross Campbell, writer and artistSelena, 28 Days Later; Michael Alan Nelson, writer; Declan Shalvey & Marek Oleksicki, artists; based on the character created by Alex Garland for the motion picture 28 Days Later

Rising Star Award

Nicholas DaSilva, Dread & AliveCarl Herring Jr. & Tod Smith, The EnforcersBrandon Howard & Sean Mack; The Revolutionary TimesJamar Nicholas, Fist Stick Knife GunGeoffrey Thorne & Todd Harris, Prodigal: Egg of First Light

Best Reprint Publication

Cold Space TP, BOOM! StudiosSuperman vs. Muhammad Ali Deluxe HC, DC ComicsUnknown Soldier: Dry Season TP, DC/Vertigo

Best Cover

28 Days Later #6, Tim Bradstreet, illustratorAfrodisiac, Jim Rugg, illustratorCold Space #1, Jeffrey Spokes, artist; Juan Maruel Tumburus, coloristUnknown Soldier #15, Dave Johnson, illustratorYummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty; Randy Duburke, illustrator

Best Comic Strip or Webcomic

The K Chronicles, Keith Knight, writer and artistMarty’s Diner, Dmitri Jackson, writer and artistThe Revolutionary Times, Brandon Howard, writer, Sean Mack, artistSolomon Azua; Jake Ekiss, writer and artistWorld of Hurt, Jay Potts, writer and artist

Fan Award for Best Comic

Azrael: Angel in the Dark; Fabian Nicieza, writer, Ramon Bachs & John Stanisci, artistsCaptain America/Black Panther: Flags of Our Fathers; Reginald Hudlin, writer, Denys Cowan, artistDoctor Voodoo: Avenger of the Supernatural; Rick Remender, writer; Jefte Palo, Gabriel Hardman & Alessandro Vitti, artistsNew Avengers: Heroic Age – Possession; Brian Michael Bendis, writer, Stuart Immonen, Wade von Grawbadger & Art Adams, artistsNew Avengers: Luke Cage – Town Without Pity; John Arcudi, writer; Eric Canete, artist

The poll for the Fan Award will go up next month at the ECBACC website (www.ecbacc.com/wordpress). Fans are encouraged to vote for their favorite black comics from the five nominees listed, or to submit their own with a write-in choice. All write-in ballots must be sent to rich.watson@gmail.com with “Fan Award” in the subject line. IMPORTANT: The write-in ballot is ONLY for choices NOT listed on the poll. ANY WRITE-IN BALLOTS WITH ANY OF THE FIVE NOMINEES ALREADY ON THE POLL WILL BE DISCARDED AND WILL NOT COUNT.

In addition, for the first time, the GCA Committee announces the creation of the Chairman’s Award, a new award given in special recognition of a work in any media outside of comics, including but not limited to books, television, film, or the Internet, that illuminates the black comics experience in an exceptional manner, and also broadens and deepens the growing body of knowledge about black comics worldwide.

This year, the GCA Committee bestows the award to the book Black Comix: African American Independent Comics Art and Culture, by Damian Duffy & John Jennings, a reference book spotlighting over fifty different independent black comics creators from the past quarter century. The release of this book was accompanied by a gallery exhibition in New York containing artwork from some of the book’s featured artists.

The GCA ceremony will be held May 20, 2011, in the Skyline Room of the Free Library of Philadelphia, Park Central branch, as part of ECBACC, which will take place at the Crown Plaza Hotel Center City, in Philadelphia, PA, May 21, 2011.

About the Glyph Comics Awards:

The Glyph Comics Awards recognize the best in comics made by, for, and about people of color from the preceding calendar year. While it is not exclusive to black creators, it does strive to honor those who have made the greatest contributions to the comics medium in terms of both critical and commercial impact. By doing so, the goal is to encourage more diverse and high quality work across the board and to inspire new creators to add their voices to the field.

The awards were founded in 2005 by Rich Watson as a means to provide news and commentary of comics with black themes, as well as tangential topics in the fields of black science-fiction/fantasy and animation.


The East Coast Black Age of Comics Convention (www.ecbacc.com/wordpress) is an annual gathering of comic book creators and retailers who create and sell material that caters to black readers of all ages. In addition to selling their work, they also take part in panel discussions and self-publishing workshops for aspiring creators. The convention is held in Philadelphia each May. There is also a reception held the preceding night. ECBACC is an outgrowth of the original Black Age of Comics Convention in Chicago, founded by Turtel Onli.

For more information about ECBACC, contact event coordinator Akinseye Brown at akinseye.brown@ecbacc.com.

Star Wars: Supreme Leader Snoke Is Good Enough to Justify Its Existence

More in Comics