2009 Hugo Award Nominees Annoucned

Official Press Release

Anticipation is pleased to announce the Hugo nominees for 2009. For more information about the award and the voting process consult our website http://anticipationsf.ca/English/Hugos

The Hugo Award, first presented in 1953, celebrate the best in the field of science fiction and fantasy. Recipients are chosen by members of the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS). The Hugos are presented each year at the World Science Fiction Convention.

799 Total Ballots cast

Best Novel (639 Ballots Cast)

Anathem by Neal Stephenson (Morrow; Atlantic UK)

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins; Bloomsbury)

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow (Tor)

Saturn's Children by Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit)

Zoe's Tale by John Scalzi (Tor)

Best Novella (337 Ballots Cast)

''The Erdmann Nexus'' by Nancy Kress (Asimov's Oct/Nov 2008)

''The Political Prisoner'' by Charles Coleman Finlay (F&SF Aug 2008)

''The Tear'' by Ian McDonald (Galactic Empires)

''True Names'' by Benjamin Rosenbaum & Cory Doctorow (Fast Forward 2)

''Truth'' by Robert Reed (Asimov's Oct/Nov 2008)

Best Novelette (373 Ballots Cast)

''Alastair Baffle's Emporium of Wonders'' by Mike Resnick (Asimov's Jan 2008)

''The Gambler'' by Paolo Bacigalupi (Fast Forward 2)

''Pride and Prometheus'' by John Kessel (F&SF Jan 2008)

''The Ray-Gun: A Love Story'' by James Alan Gardner (Asimov's Feb 2008)

''Shoggoths in Bloom'' by Elizabeth Bear (Asimov's Mar 2008)

Best Short Story (448 Ballots Cast)

''26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss'' by Kij Johnson (Asimov's Jul 2008)

''Article of Faith'' by Mike Resnick (Baen's Universe Oct 2008)

''Evil Robot Monkey'' by Mary Robinette Kowal (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction, Volume Two)

''Exhalation'' by Ted Chiang (Eclipse Two)

''From Babel's Fall'n Glory We Fled'' by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's Feb 2008)

Best Related Book (263 Ballots Cast)

Rhetorics of Fantasy by Farah Mendlesohn (Wesleyan University Press)

Spectrum 15: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art by Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner, eds. (Underwood Books)

The Vorkosigan Companion: The Universe of Lois McMaster Bujold by Lillian Stewart Carl & John Helfers, eds. (Baen)

What It Is We Do When We Read Science Fiction by Paul Kincaid (Beccon Publications)

Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008 by John Scalzi (Subterranean Press)

Best Graphic Story (212 Ballots Cast)

The Dresden Files: Welcome to the Jungle Written by Jim Butcher, art by Ardian Syaf (Del Rey/Dabel Brothers Publishing)

Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones Written by Kaja & Phil Foglio, art by Phil Foglio, colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)

Fables: War and Pieces Written by Bill Willingham, pencilled by Mark Buckingham, art by Steve Leialoha and Andrew Pepoy, color by Lee Loughridge, letters by Todd Klein (DC/Vertigo Comics)

Schlock Mercenary: The Body Politic Story and art by Howard Tayler (The Tayler Corporation)

Serenity: Better Days Written by Joss Whedon & Brett Matthews, art by Will Conrad, color by Michelle Madsen, cover by Jo Chen (Dark Horse Comics)

Y: The Last Man, Volume 10: Whys and Wherefores Written/created by Brian K. Vaughan, pencilled/created by Pia Guerra, inked by Jose Marzan, Jr. (DC/Vertigo Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form (436 Ballots Cast)

The Dark Knight Christopher Nolan & David S. Goyer, story; Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan, screenplay; based on characters created by Bob Kane; Christopher Nolan, director (Warner Brothers)

Hellboy II: The Golden Army Guillermo del Toro & Mike Mignola, story; Guillermo del Toro, screenplay; based on the comic by Mike Mignola; Guillermo del Toro, director (Dark Horse, Universal)

Iron Man Mark Fergus & Hawk Ostby and Art Marcum & Matt Holloway, screenplay; based on characters created by Stan Lee & Don Heck & Larry Lieber & Jack Kirby; Jon Favreau, director (Paramount, Marvel Studios)

METAtropolis edited by John Scalzi; Elizabeth Bear, Jay Lake, Tobias Buckell, John Scalzi, and Karl Schroeder, writers (Audible Inc.)

WALL-E Andrew Stanton & Pete Docter, story; Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon, screenplay; Andrew Stanton, director (Pixar/Walt Disney)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form (336 Ballots Cast)

Lost: "The Constant", Carlton Cuse & Damon Lindelof, writers; Jack Bender, director (Bad Robot, ABC studios)

Doctor Horrible's Sing-Along Blog Joss Whedon, & Zack Whedon, & Jed Whedon, & Maurissa Tancharoen, writers; Joss Whedon, director (Mutant Enemy)

Battlestar Galactica: "Revelations", Bradley Thompson & David Weddle, writers; Michael Rymer, director (NBC Universal)

Doctor Who: "Silence in the Library"/"Forest of the Dead", Steven Moffat, writer; Euros Lyn, director (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who: "Turn Left", Russell T. Davies, writer; Graeme Harper, director (BBC Wales)

Best Editor, Short Form (377 Ballots Cast)

Ellen Datlow

Stanley Schmidt

Jonathan Strahan

Gordon Van Gelder

Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form (273 Ballots Cast)

Lou Anders

Ginjer Buchanan

David G. Hartwell

Beth Meacham

Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Best Professional Artist (334 Ballots Cast)

Daniel Dos Santos

Bob Eggleton

Donato Giancola

John Picacio

Shaun Tan

Best Semiprozine (283 Ballots Cast)

Clarkesworld Magazine edited by Neil Clarke, Nick Mamatas, & Sean Wallace

Interzone edited by Andy Cox

Locus edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi

The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by Kathryn Cramer, Kris Dikeman, David G. Hartwell, & Kevin J. Maroney

Weird Tales edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal

Best Fan Writer (291 Ballots Cast)

Chris Garcia

John Hertz

Dave Langford

Cheryl Morgan

Steven H Silver

Best Fanzine (257 Ballots Cast)

Argentus edited by Steven H Silver

Banana Wings edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer

Challenger edited by Guy H. Lillian III

The Drink Tank edited by Chris Garcia

Electric Velocipede edited by John Klima

File 770 edited by Mike Glyer

Best Fan Artist (187 Ballots Cast)

Alan F. Beck

Brad W. Foster

Sue Mason

Taral Wayne

Frank Wu

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (288 Ballots Cast)

Aliette de Bodard*

David Anthony Durham*

Felix Gilman

Tony Pi*

Gord Sellar*

*(Second year of eligibility)

The 67th World Science Fiction Convention, known as Anticipation, will take place in Montreal, Quebec, Canada from Thursday, August 6th through Monday, August 10th, 2009.

More information about Anticipation, including current membership rates, is available on our web site (http://www.anticipationsf.ca); you can also write to us for more information.

Marvel Kicks Off an All-New Atlantis Attacks Event In January

More in Comics