2006 Lulu Awards Nominees Announced

Official Press Release

Friends of Lulu has a lot to celebrate this year, and we are inviting comic book lovers everywhere to join the party.

This national organization is dedicated to showcasing the work of women in the comics industry--both mainstream and independent, in print and on the Web. For over eleven years Friends of Lulu has promoted diversity in the sequential arts, spreading the love of comics for all.

We are constantly growing and finding ways to encourage the evolution of comics themselves. In 2006, we will again be attending Comic-Con International: San Diego, where all comics enthusiasts are invited to visit the Lulu booth as well as attend our tenth annual Lulu Awards Bash!

The Lulu Awards bring honor and recognition to the most inspiring and noteworthy women in the comic book industry, as well as the efforts, achievements and works of others that reflect Friends of Lulu`s goals. Nominations for the Awards are made by and voted on by current members of Friends of Lulu. The Lulu Awards are handed out at a special ceremony during Comic-Con International in San Diego each year.

The nominees are:


Phoebe Glockner (The Diary of a Teenage Girl)

Roberta Gregory (Naughty Bits, Artistic Licentiousness)

Linda Medley (Castle Waiting)

Rose O'Neill (Creator, Kewpie Dolls)

Jill Thompson (Scary Godmother)

Carol Tyler (The Job Thing, Late Bloomer)

LULU of the YEAR: (Recognizing those whose work best exemplifies Friends of Lulu's mission of promoting diversity in comics.)

Gail Simone (Writer: Birds of Prey)

Lisa Jonte (Girlamatic Editor)

Zeus Comics/CAPE (Retailer/Comics and Pop Culture Expo)

Jen Contino (Comicon.com/pulse, contributor)

SCHOLASTIC/GRAPHIX (Publisher: Babysitters Club, Queen Bee, Breaking Up)

KIM YALE AWARD for BEST NEW FEMALE TALENT: (For new/emerging talent deserving wider recognition. The award is named for comics writer Kim Yale, a founding Lulu member who passed away in 1997.)

Hope Larson (www.hopelarson.com)

Leigh Dragoon (www.bythewayside.net)

Clio Chang (www.cliochang.com)

Liz Prince (comicnrrd.livejournal.com)

MK Reed (www.mkreed.com)

WOMEN OF DISTINCTION AWARD: (Honoring women in the comic book industry in non-creator roles [editors, publishers, retailers].)

Karen Berger (Editor, DC/Vertigo)

Jackie Estrada (Exhibit A Press, Administrator Eisner Awards)

Francoise Mouly (Art Director, The New Yorker)

Ronée Garcia Bougeious (Comics News Editor and columnist, PopCultureShock.com)

Diana Shutz (Editor, Dark Horse)

Location of the event to be announced soon. In the meantime, use our online ballot for quick and easy voting! http://www.friends-lulu.org/awards2006.html

You must be a member in good standing (dues paid up to date) in order to vote. If you are unsure whether you are up to date, please contact Shannon Crane, our membership secretary, at shannon@friends-lulu.org prior to sending in your vote.

If you are interested in sponsoring the Lulu Awards, please contact the board at board@friends-lulu.org for more info. Please e-mail us if you have any questions about the awards or voting procedures.

Dawn of X X-Men Feature
The X-Men Just Took Over One of Marvel's Most Important Places

More in Comics