Winners announced for 2013 Stumptown Comic Arts Awards

by  in Comic News Comment

The Stumptown Comic Arts Awards were presented Saturday during the 10th annual Stumptown Comics Fest in Portland, Oregon. Although organizers have yet to post the winners on the event’s website, here’s the breakdown, courtesy of Jen Vaughn and Johanna Draper Carlson:

Best Writer: Leia Weathington (The Legend of Bold Riley)
Best Artist: Juanjo Guarnido (Blacksad: A Silent Hell)
Best Webcomic: Evan Dahm (Vattu)
Best Small Press: Poorcraft: The Funnybook Fundamentals of Living Well on Less by C. Spike Trotman and Diana Nock
Best New Talent: Kory Bing (Skin Deep: Exchanges)
Best Letterer: Carla Speed McNeil (Finder: Talisman)
Best Colorist: Kory Bing (Skin Deep: Exchanges)
Best Cartoonist: Carla Speed McNeil (Finder: Talisman)
Best Anthology: Smut Peddler, published by Iron Circus Comics
Best Publication Design: Blacksad: A Silent Hell, designed by Cary Grazzini
Readers’ Choice Award: E.K. Weaver

The nominees were chosen by a panel of judges consisting of comics industry professionals, journalists and retailers, and then voted on by the public.