Vote now for the Stumptown Comic Arts Awards

by  in Comic News Comment

Voting is now open for the annual Stumptown Comic Arts Awards, which are presented in conjunction with the yearly Stumptown Comics Fest in Portland, Ore.

Categories for this year’s awards include Best Artist, Best Writer, Best Cartoonist, Best Letterer, Best Colorist, Best Publication Design, Best Small Press, Best Anthology, and Best New Talent, as well as a new category, Best Webcomic. Nominees were chosen by a jury of industry professionals, and the awards also include a “Reader’s Choice” category.

The 2013 nominees are:

Best Writer

Cullen Bunn — The Sixth Gun: Sons of the Gun
Greg Rucka — Stumptown
Leia Weathington — The Legend of Bold Riley
Joshua Williamson — Sketch Monsters
Nunzio Defilippis and Christina Weir — Bad Medicine, Vol. 1: New Moon

Best Artist

Jonathan Case — The Creep
Ezra Clayton Daniels — Upgrade Soul
Steve Lieber — Alabaster: Wolves
Juanjo Guarnido — Blacksad: A Silent Hell
Matthew Southworth — Stumptown

Best Cartoonist

Francesco Francavilla — The Black Beetle
Brian Churilla — The Secret History of D.B. Cooper
Noah Van Sciver — The Hypo: The Melancholic Young Lincoln
Carla Speed McNeil — Finder: Talisman
Chris Schweizer — Crogan’s Adventures

Best Letterer

Finder: Talisman — Carla Speed McNeil
The Yellow Zine — Roman Muradov
The Black Beetle — Nate Piekos for Blambot!
Jumbo Deluxe — Adrian Wallace
Wings for Wheels, “Home is Where the Boss Is” — Nomi Kane

Best Colorist

Lilli Carre — Heads or Tails
Brian Churilla — The Secret History of D.B. Cooper
Bill Crabtree — The Sixth Gun, Bad Medicine
Kory Bing — Skin Deep: Exchanges
Roman Muradov — The Yellow Zine

Best Publication Design

A Comic Guide to Brewing Coffee — designed by Lara Antal
Grandville — designed by Bryan Talbot
Bucko — designed by Allyson Haller
Heads or Tails — designed by Lilli Carré
Blacksad — designed by Cary Grazzini

Best Anthology

Once Upon a Time Machine — published by Dark Horse Comics and Locust Moon
No Straight Lines — published by Fantagraphics
Creepy — published by Dark Horse Comics
The Devastator — published by The Devastator
Smut Peddler — published by Iron Circus Comics

Best Small Press

Poorcraft: The Funnybook Fundamentals of Living Well on Less — C. Spike Trotman and Diana Nock
Terra Tempo: The Four Corners of Time — David Shapiro, Christopher Herndon, and Erica Melville
Devastator #7 — published by The Devastator
Fame and Misfortune — Kel McDonald
Wings for Wheels: A Tribute to Bruce Springsteen — Edited by Nomi Kane

Best New Talent

Margaret Trauth — Decrypting Rita
Ibrahim Moustafa — High Crimes
Leia Weathington — The Legend of Bold Riley
Laurianne Uy — Polterguys
Kory Bing — Skin Deep Exchanges

Best Webcomic

Ezra Clayton Daniels — Upgrade Soul
Andy Warner — Brief Histories of Everyday Objects
Jake Richmond — Modest Medusa
Evan Dahm — Vattu
Juan Santapau — The Secret Knots