pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon
TOP

Dynamite Announces Kevin Eastman-Developed MMA Series “Cage Hero”

by  in Comic News Comment
Dynamite Announces Kevin Eastman-Developed MMA Series “Cage Hero”

Dynamite Entertainment has announced via a press release that they are teaming up with Surge Licensing, Inc., Ian Parker and Mark Mastrandrea to bring a new, MMA-influenced superhero to comics. “Cage Hero” will burst onto the scene this November in a four-issue limited series that will be available both digitally and in comic book stores. The heroes depicted in the series were developed by Cage Hero creator and MMA personality Ian Parker while working closely with “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” co-creator Kevin Eastman.

The monthly limited series will follow middle school student Ryder Stone as he joins a team of mixed martial artists called the Cage Heroes and fights to stop the spread of the evil Shadow Empire. The release notes that “Cage Hero” is an “all-ages action-adventure series in the tradition of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teen Titans, and Karate Kid — a youth-based Mixed Martial Arts property that inspires health, fitness, skill, and teamwork to become a real hero.”

“It is time that this generation has its own group of heroes to look up to. We have created that,” said Parker in the release. “With the sport of MMA on the rise and superheroes as popular as ever, we have found a fun and inspiring way to combine the two.”

The series will be written by Rik Hoskin (“Mercy Thompson”) and feature art by Renato Rei (“Critter”) and colors from Ross A. Campbell (“Skullkickers”). The release notes that Parker and Eastman will oversee all aspects of production.

“Dynamite is excited to be bringing this property to the comic book world, and telling its first story with these compelling characters Ian and Kevin have created,” said Dynamite CEO and Publisher Nick Barrucci. “Cage Hero taps into the continued rising popularity of Mixed Martial Arts, and we think it will find a great audience with those who are fans of the sport.”







Official press release

CAGE HEROES FIGHTING THEIR WAY TO YOU THIS FALL FROM DYNAMITE!

MMA-BASED SUPERHERO SERIES DEVELOPED BY KEVIN EASTMAN
AND MMA MANAGER IAN PARKER LAUNCHING IN NOVEMBER

July 7, 2015, Mt. Laurel, NJ: Dynamite is proud to announce a collaborative agreement with Surge Licensing, Inc., Ian Parker, and Mark Mastrandrea to develop a comic book series based on the brand new property Cage Hero. The four-issue series will debut this November, released monthly as single-issue comics, both digitally and in print, and collected later into trade format. Cage Hero is an all-ages action-adventure series in the tradition of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teen Titans, and Karate Kid — a youth-based Mixed Martial Arts property that inspires health, fitness, skill, and teamwork to become a real hero.

“Dynamite is excited to be bringing this property to the comic book world, and telling its first story with these compelling characters Ian and Kevin have created,” says Dynamite CEO and Publisher Nick Barrucci. “Cage Hero taps into the continued rising popularity of Mixed Martial Arts, and we think it will find a great audience with those who are fans of the sport.”

In Cage Hero, Ryder Stone, a small town middle school student and wrestling star raised by a strict grandfather, finds himself on a path to meet his true destiny when he is recruited to lead a super-powered team of mixed martial artists known as The Cage Heroes! Trained in their own unique martial art disciplines, all connected by a secret past, this new team will need to dig deep within themselves to protect the world from an international evil network known as The Shadow Empire. The race for control of the universe has begun, and evil has the upper hand. With only a handful of teenagers to stand in the way, can they find the hero within and stop them?

“It is time that this generation has its own group of heroes to look up to. We have created that,” says Ian Parker. “With the sport of MMA on the rise and superheroes as popular as ever, we have found a fun and inspiring way to combine the two.”

Cage Hero was created by MMA Manager/Personality Ian Parker and Mark Mastrandrea. Working closely with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles co-creator Kevin Eastman to craft the characters and world inspired by Ian’s own fighting knowledge and experience, and his love for comics. The creative team on the comic book series will include Rik Hoskin scripting, Renato Rei providing the dynamic artwork, and Ross Campbell on colors, with Ian and Kevin personally overseeing all aspects of production.

MMA is the fastest growing sport in the world today. Each MMA event commonly reaches over one million viewers. In the early existence of MMA, it was only a sport that adults could participate in; in this day and age, MMA is taught to men, women, and children. It is primarily taught to children to find their inner strength and to become disciplined at a young age.

“We couldn’t be more excited to launch an MMA-inspired comic series with an all-star cast of creators and content developers,” says Elan Freedman, Surge Licensing’s VP. “The world has seen the magic created through a partnership with Kevin Eastman. Add in the sporting knowledge of Ian and Mark with the publishing prowess of Dynamite, and you have a recipe for success.”

Dynamite Entertainment’s Cage Hero comic books and graphic novels will be available to consumers through the comic book specialty market, and the graphic novel collection will be available at major bookstore chains, online booksellers, and independent bookstores courtesy of Diamond Book Distributors. Cage Hero comics will also be available for purchase through digital platforms courtesy of Comixology, Dynamite Digital, iVerse, and Dark Horse Digital. Fans and retailers are encouraged to follow Dynamite Entertainment and Cage Hero’s official social media channel for the latest updates regarding creative teams and release dates.