pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon
TOP

CBR

The Premium The Premium The Premium

Dynamite Announces Gritty, Depraved “Seduction Of The Innocent” Crime Comic

by  in Comic News Comment
Dynamite Announces Gritty, Depraved “Seduction Of The Innocent” Crime Comic

Frequent collaborators Ande Parks and Esteve Polls are riding together once again, and this time around they’re traveling to a time period just a little more recent than the one depicted in their previous series “The Lone Ranger.” Dynamite Entertainment’s new series, “Seduction of the Innocent,” will see Parks and Polls lend their talent to 1953 San Francisco for a crime drama described in the official announcement as “gritty and sometimes depraved.”

“Seduction of the Innocent,” which borrows its name from the 1954 sensationalistic book by Fredric Wertham that famously argued that comic books led to juvenile delinquency, follows an FBI agent as he investigates the systemic murder of San Francisco’s crime lords. When harrowing new criminals take the dead’s place, agent Thomas Jennings does everything he can to protect his wife and unborn child.

Writer Parks spoke about the influence of 1950s crime comics on the new series, which hits stores in December, and the artists bringing the story to life.

“I love period crime fiction, enshrouded in fog and bad intention,” said Parks in the release. “Our story is told in a modern style, but it is rooted in crime fiction of the past: Jim Thompson and the True Crime comics of the fifties. We were lucky enough to get Francesco Francavilla to do covers that pay homage to the amazing Johnny Craig EC covers, with severed heads, bloody axes, and so on — all the glorious stuff that got Dr. Fredric Wertham in an uproar. Also, I get to work with Esteve Polls again, with whom I did a 25-issue run on ‘The Long Ranger’ that I’m very proud of. He’s great at atmosphere, and our crime story has plenty for him to draw.”

“Seduction of the Innocent” arrives from Dynamite Entertainment this December.

Official Press Release

DYNAMITE ANNOUNCES NEW SEDUCTION OF THE INNOCENT COMIC BOOK SERIES BY ANDE PARKS AND ESTEVE POLLS

September 16, 2015, Mt. Laurel, NJ: Dynamite Entertainment is proud to announce that Ande Parks and Esteve Polls, the acclaimed creative team of The Death of Zorro and The Lone Ranger, will reunite for an all-new comic book series, Seduction of the Innocent. Gritty and sometimes depraved crime fiction in the tradition of James Elroy and EC-era crime and horror comics, the series will debut in December 2015 with cover artwork by Eisner Award-winning artist Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie).

Set in the San Francisco of 1953, Seduction of the Innocent introduces Thomas Jennings, an FBI agent who has just arrived in the city, fresh-faced and ready to tackle crime in the big city… or so he thinks. In fact, Jennings is not nearly prepared for what he’s about to encounter. The city’s crime lords are being systematically murdered, and the killers waiting to fill the void are the pure stuff of Jennings’ nightmares. Jennings will be forced to question every belief he holds dear to protect his wife and unborn child from the madness.

Writer Ande Parks says, “The story is, at its core, about loss of innocence. It’s about seduction, but not sexual seduction. It’s about the seduction of violence and power. It’s about a good man struggling to hold onto the values that have always defined him as he battles things so evil that he can’t really comprehend them. This is not a story that clings to the status quo. People change in the course of our arc. They die and lose things that can never be recovered.”

“I love period crime fiction, enshrouded in fog and bad intention,” adds Parks. “Our story is told in a modern style, but it is rooted in crime fiction of the past: Jim Thompson and the True Crime comics of the fifties. We were lucky enough to get Francesco Francavilla to do covers that pay homage to the amazing Johnny Craig EC covers, with severed heads, bloody axes, and so on — all the glorious stuff that got Dr. Fredric Wertham in an uproar. Also, I get to work with Esteve Polls again, with whom I did a 25-issue run on The Long Ranger that I’m very proud of. He’s great at atmosphere, and our crime story has plenty for him to draw.”

Regarding the setting, Parks says, “Throughout the series, we try to use San Francisco’s most interesting and iconic features as set pieces. The Wharf, the Japanese Tea Garden, Chinatown, the Redwood Forest, etc. I didn’t get us to Alcatraz… maybe down the line somewhere. Anyway, I love the city, and I think it’s full of unique settings for our characters to move around — and kill each other — in.”

Seduction of the Innocent #1 will be solicited for release in December in Diamond Comic Distributors’ October Previews catalog, the premiere source of merchandise for the comic book specialty market. Comic book fans are encouraged to reserve copies of Seduction of the Innocent with their local comic book retailers. Seduction of the Innocent will also be available for individual customer purchase through digital platforms courtesy of Comixology, Dynamite Digital, iVerse, and Dark Horse Digital. Fans and retailers are encouraged to follow Dynamite Entertainment’s official social media channels for the latest updates regarding project development.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
GO PREMIUM WITH CBR
Go Premium!

More Videos