TOP

BBC to Announce New ‘Doctor Who’ Star on Sunday With Hour-Long Event

by  in TV News Comment

If you were a Time Lord, you’d be like the Doctor Who producers and already know who the next Doctor will be. Those of us without insider knowledge or time -traveling abilities will just have to wait until Sunday to find out who will replace Matt Smith.

BBC One is turning the announcement into an event, airing an hour-long special featuring Smith and Doctor Who showrunner Steven Moffat. Called Doctor Who Live: The Next Doctor, the special will air in the United Kingdom at 7 p.m. GMT and simultaneously broadcast in the United States at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT on BBC America.

Before Smith leaves the character he’s been playing for the past four years, he’ll star in the show’s eighth season as well as the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special alongside his predecessor David Tennant. That airs on Nov. 23 at the same time all over the world.

(via The Hollywood Reporter)